Franklin County, Missouri was organized Dec 11, 1818 (effective January 1, 1819) from St. Louis County and named for Benjamin Franklin.

The county seat is Union, MO 63084.

In 1812, when Missouri Territory was organized, it contained only five counties: Cape Girardeau, New Madrid, St. Charles, St. Louis, and Ste. Genevieve. Between 1812 and 1820, new counties were organized and split from the original five counties. The new counties were Washington, Howard, Jefferson, Franklin, Wayne, Lincoln, Madison, Montgomery, Pike and Cooper. [The link bar feature is not available in this web]

Franklin County was originally much larger than it is today. The boundaries, according to the Goodspeed history, were as follows: "All that part of St. Louis County bounded as follows: Beginning on the Missouri River, at the second range line east of the fifth principal meridian; thence with said range line to the corner of Townships 42 and 43 in Range 2, and Townships 42 and 43 in Range 3, east of the fifth principal meridian; thence in a direct line to that point on the county line between the counties of St. Louis and Washington, where said county line running from the mouth of Mineral Fork changes its course to the southwest; thence west to the middle of the river Meramec; thence south 22 degrees, 30 minutes west to the Osage River; thence down the Osage River to the Missouri, and thence with the Missouri to the place of beginning; provided, however, that if the said Washington County line, extended westward, shall not strike the Osage River, the said county line shall be the boundary of the proposed county, until the same strikes the Osage boundary line, and thence with said boundary line to the Osage River, and down the same to the place of beginning, as aforesaid, is hereby laid off as a separate and distinct county, by the name of FRANKLIN COUNTY; and all that part or tract of country lying between the northwestern boundary of Washington County, as heretofore established, and the said county of Franklin, as herein established, shall hereafter be attached to and form a part of Washington County." This act was approved December 11, 1818.

By striking off Gasconade County from Franklin, the area of Franklin County was considerably reduced, and in 1845, the boundaries of the county were re-established as follows: "Beginning at the northwest corner of St. Louis County, at a point in the middle of the main channel of the Missouri River; thence south along the line between Ranges 2 and 3 east, to the line between Townships 42 and 43; thence in a direct line to the northwest corner of Washington County, a point sixteen chains north of the quarter section corner in the line between Sections 14 and 15, in Township 40 north, Range 2 east; thence west to the middle of the main channel of the Missouri River, and thence down said channel to the beginning." These are the boundaries of Franklin County at the present time.

In order to avoid confusion as you proceed with your study of Franklin County families, you will need to keep in mind that some geographical areas that are now part of other counties, were once part of Franklin County. In addition, township lines have been redrawn, eliminating what was once Galena Township. The old Galena township, in the St. Clair area, was primarily (but not exclusively) in what is now Central township.

Franklin County is now divided into twelve Townships: Boeuf, Boles, Boone, Calvey, Central, Lyon, Meramec, New Haven, Prairie, St. Johns, Union, and Washington.

Reformatted 31 July 2020 <u>Franklin County</u> portion of the <u>MOGenWeb</u>